24 Hours Hotline: +86 137-3541-1378

Email:

Your Location: Home > Testimonial
Questions & Answers or Review
* Full Name
* E-mail
* Title of your review
* Your review
 
M
Mr. Wilhelm Reuvers
Reviewed on 30 July 2020

Hi, half day is enough to spend in Zhujiajiao? Is it possible or need more longer time? Basically, which one is better to visit for water town? Zhouzhuang? Tongli? Or zhujiajiao? Because previously i will visit Zhouzhuang water town and Tongli if possible in Suzhou area

Thanks!

Reviewed to: Zhujiajiao Water Town

Replied:30 July 2020

Hi, generally 3-4 hours are enough to visit Zhujiajiao Water Town, it is also okay for you to spend more time. Zhouzhuang and Tongli are better than Zhujiajiao. But if you travel from Shanghai to one f them, the transfer from Shanghai to Zhujiajiao is easier. In personal, I like Tongli best. But water towns are quite similar to each other. 

Sincerely yours,

Sharon/Marin
Coordination Tourism Manager - China Private Tour
24 Hours Hotline: +86 15700094881
Skpye. chinaprivatetour
What's app: +86 137 3541 1378
Email: shanghai@tripstoshanghai.com

M
Ms. Marian McNally
Reviewed on 30 July 2020

One of my favourite places in Shanghai! Definitely worth a visit. The distance is quite far from the city though, about 1.5 hrs by metro from Jing’an Temple station. However, if you are into scenery and would like to take a stroll off a quiet and peaceful town then this place is for you! There are also shops selling local snacks and souvenirs towards the end of the lane which get slightly more crowded. Also a great place to chill as they have cozy cafes facing the river. Will definitely be back again!

Reviewed to: Zhujiajiao Water Town

M
Mr. Anthony McNally
Reviewed on 30 July 2020

Amazing scenery and environment for a relaxing stroll. There's a lot of interesting local food stalls you can try. Most stalls that serve the same food or snacks generally offer them at the same price, so don't worry about getting a better deal at another shop. Try the zongzi and lamb skewers!

You'll find many interesting shops as well. It's worth exploring the side streets and residential areas for a more quiet experience.

Reviewed to: Zhujiajiao Water Town

J
Jeff
Reviewed on 24 July 2020

It is quite a lovely place with well preserved buildings and narrow streets. But it can get quite touristy from late mornings onwards, so coming early is ideal. It is only an hour train ride from Shanghai city and takes you another 15mins walk to reach the ancient town. I would recommend spending up to 3-4 hours here to enjoy the atmosphere.

Reviewed to: Zhujiajiao Water Town

K
Kathleen
Reviewed on 24 July 2020

Does anyone have up-to-date info on the express bus from/to Shanghai/Zhujiajiao Water Town? I know that you can catch it from/to People's Square. Is there anything special I need to know? Bus tickets: pay on the bus? Plan to visit on a morning end of Aug. Tanks for info

Reviewed to: Zhujiajiao Water Town

Replied:24 July 2020

Yes, you can take the bus from People's Square Shanghai to Zhujiajiao Water Town. 12 RMB cash for each way. You can pay on the bus. The person collecting money could make change, but its best to bring exact fare just in case. Make sure you have the Chinese word for Zhujiajiao (朱家角) written down, so you can show the bus drivers to make sure you catch the correct bus. It took about an hour to get to Zhujiajiao, and almost two to get back because of heavy traffic. Once you get to the Zhujiajiao bus station, you will want to use a map app to walk to the tourist area. It is a pretty lengthy walk. To get back to People's Square, you will need to make sure you have it written in Chinese as well. Show it to the bus drivers. 

N
Nick United States
Reviewed on 10 July 2020

Hi I read people mentioning bout the new Line 17 that goes to zhujiajiao. Can i have more info on that. How do i get to Zhujiajiao via subway? Do i go to Hongqiao Raiway Station and transfer from there? Thanks! And what do you think if we want to go to Yu Garden first (around 8AM-11AM) and then to Zhujiajiao (maybe coming bac around 8PM) ? Thanks in advance!

Reviewed to: Zhujiajiao Water Town

Replied:10 July 2020

Get on line 2 to Hongqiao railway station. Then transfer to line 17. You can get on line 10 from Yu garden station to east Nanjing road station. Then you change to line 2 to Hongaiao railway station. Then you get on line 17 to zhujiajiao. But I suggest you to go zhujiajiao first. Because zhujiajiao is very nice. You should spend more time there. You can see real ancient China. Although Yu garden is not but, it’s is less than zhujiajiao. 

T
Tom Rufo
Reviewed on 10 July 2020

How much is taxi fare from Shanghai center to zhoujiajiao? And want to know which is better to go on a morning weekend or a weekday? Heard from the reviews that weekend are packed with tourist and locals. Thanks

Reviewed to: Zhujiajiao Water Town

Replied:10 July 2020

A taxi will be 150RMB to 200RMB depending on traffic and time of day. But the best solution is to go by metro, line 2 or 10 to Hongqiao Station and there to take the line 17.  By bus: Don’t know where you will end up but the direct bus drops you at the terminal, which is a five minute walk from the old town, there are signs for directions. The bus will take about an hour and a half, and allow you to see Shanghai’s suburbs. Public Bus is pretty convenient and fast only at 12RMB one way.  Better to go on a week day, I'm sure it'll be less crowded. It's crowded during weekend or holiday but well organized. 

R
Raimond
Reviewed on 10 July 2020

I have heard that places are limiting the number of visitors in order to avoid crowds. Is this true for Zhujiajiao? Should I try to book in advance? If so, how can I do that? Thanks! How easy is it to organise a boat cruise once you arrive at Zhujiajiao Ancient Town. Is as simple as waliking up to one of the operators on the side of the canal? Any info welcomed, thank you.

Reviewed to: Zhujiajiao Water Town

Replied:10 July 2020

Yes, you need to book the tickets in advance. If you hold foreign passport or you are senior, you can buy the ticket at the ticket office which will be easier. For the boat cruise, simple and easy. There are plenty of boats available, in at least 3 different locations you buy the ticket and get on board. There is a booth where you pay, prices are set. 

K
Kenneth
Reviewed on 18 June 2020

Highly recommend visiting Zhujiajiao if you want to see how the Chinese people lived in the past. My friend and I had a wonderful time on our trip to Zhujiajiao From Shanghai. We thought your service was the perfect way to get an introduction to this beautiful water town. It was nice to leave all the details to the trip and to be able to relax and enjoy the trip. We thought the journey was an excellent value.

Our guide, Tom, was polite, helpful, and very knowledgeable. Tom was able to provide the background on everything we were seeing - e.g., the fung shui elements in the gardens, the traditional tea service for business meetings, how the Chinese postal system worked in its early years, etc. His knowledge really helped enrich our visit.

The door-to-door service was so convenient and Tom was prepared with all the admittance tickets that we needed to enter Zhujiajiao, visit the gardens, go on a boat ride, etc. He also recommended good spots to grab a bite (and places to avoid). It would have taken us much more time to arrange everything ourselves.

We have already recommended your tour to several of our friends. Our compliments on a well-run service!

Reviewed to: Zhujiajiao Water Town Half Day Tour From Shanghai - The Secret Hidden Under the Modern City

G
George
Reviewed on 18 June 2020

I had a very nice day with my guide Autumn. She came and met me at my hotel. The tour was perfect and very flexible (schedule, destinations, transportation). Autumn is a very good guide, she was truly outstanding. Her English was excellent so we appreciated a chance to discuss with her some of the details of our journey, She taught me a lot about the various areas we visited and the people living in Shanghai (past and present), etc. She helped us with checking our baggage, in the hotel, etc. We truly appreciated Autumn and we hope to convey our compliments to her.

Also we had an very good local food for lunch in a nice small restaurant.

Our driver Mr.Yen was the best and most thoughtful driver i had during this china trip.

I highly recommand this tour to anyone with a limited time to visit. It's definitely the best way to go!

Reviewed to: Private Full-Day Tour: Shanghai Old and New Highlights

Live Chat

Why Choose Us, About Us

* Safe travel with us druing the COVID-19 pandemic
* 
Local Tour Provider, NOT the Third Party.
* We Know Hangzhou Better. We can offer Lowest Price Guarantee

* Free Cancellation Up to 24 Hours in Advance
* Satisfaction guaranteed trip plan to deeply connect with the people and culture
*
Private Guide with 5+ years guiding Experience
*
Professional Driver with 10+ years driving Experience
* 24/7 fully backed up by professional team
* Reply within 24 hours

Tailor-Made

1 to 1 tailor-made service from our professional travel advisors for the most sophisticated

Authentic

Constantly excellent reviews for attraction, hotel and service Competitive price

Value Guarantee

Local experts provide quality tours Best selected knowledgeable local guides Authentic local restaurants

Stress-free Guaranteed

7*24 hours available to create you a worry-free tour. No Hidden Fees and absolutely no pressure to buy. Secured

Who choose us

Copyright © 2017 Tripstoshanghai.com All rights reserved.   Sitemap   浙ICP备18056007号-3